Duchessofthehill's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 14, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Duchess of the Hill @ 6:07 pm

Valentine’s Day!  I could think of nothing more romantic to celebrate than a skate down the canal with my love, stopping to check out the Winterlude events and sample my first Beavertail.  I have been watching the graceful glide of the skaters from the bridge near my abode for weeks and was anxious to give this truly Ottawan activity a try.

Skating on the Rideau Canal

My man had bought me a nice pair of boy skates at Play It Again Sports.  They were freshly sharpened with new laces and I could not wait to start whizzing around on them.  Within the first minute I discovered that skating is not as effortless as it looks – there is real skill, coordination and balance behind it.  Within the first two minutes I discovered my skates were a little bit uncomfortable, and within the first five minutes that they were freakin’ painful.  At this point I was too far from the bench I started from to go back and in too much pain to do my shuffle skate forward so had to be pulled by Sean to the next bench where the skates were promptly removed.  In total my skating experience lasted about 8 minutes.  Needless to say, we didn’t make it anywhere near Winterlude and I still have not yet tried the famous Beavertail.  Still had a great Valentine’s day though!

Snow Sculpture at Jacques Cartier Park

 

One Response to “”

  1. Sean Says:

    🙂

    I found it, finally. These are great pictures. Can’t wait to start our art class and get the bikes out in Gatineau Park next.

    I love you.


Leave a Reply

